Meet the Winners of the 2013 Reason Video Awards and Watch Their Work!


HD Download

Last week, Reason TV announced the winners of its first-ever Reason Video Awards, giving out $10,000 in prize money to makers of "short-form video, film, and moving pictures that explore, investigate, and enrich our appreciation of libertarian beliefs in individual rights, limited government, and especially human possibilities."

Selected from about 100 entries, the winners included:

  • Drew Tidwell: "I, Pencil," produced for the Competitive Enterprise Institute
  • Justin Monticello: "Obama That I Used to Know" 
  • Isaac Reese: "Game of Food Trucks," produced for the Institute for Justice

Rounding out the finalists were Mike Mills ("Top DHS Checkpoint Refusals") and Owen Brennan, Justin Folk, and Robert Perkins ("The Crony Chronicles: I Want to Grow Up to be a Crony").

Congrats to all winners and many thanks to all who entered.

Also awarded that night: The Bastiat Prize in Journalism, which honors writing "that best demonstrates the importance of individual liberty and free markets with originality, wit, and eloquence." The top prize was shared by Lane Filler of Newsday and Ross Clark of the U.K. Times. The first-ever Lanny Friedlander Prize, named for the founder of Reason magazine and celebrating individuals and groups who create new platforms that explore and analyze the power of Free Minds and Free Markets, went to Wired's co-founders, Jane Metcalfe and Louis Rossetto.

Read more about the Reason Media Awards here.

Watch the presentation of the video awards by clicking above. Watch all of the finalists' videos by clicking below.

Approx. 3:30 minutes. Edited and animated by Meredith Bragg. Camera by Jim Epstein.