Minimum Wage

Gov. Brown Signs Law Increasing Calif. Minimum Wage

Will eventually rise to $10 an hour.

|

California on Wednesday became the first state in the nation to commit to raising the minimum wage to $10 per hour, although the increase will take place gradually, under a law signed by Democratic Governor Jerry Brown.

The law raises minimum pay in the nation's most populous state from its current rate of $8 per hour, to $9 by July 2014, and $10 by January 2016. Currently, the state with the highest minimum wage is Washington, where employers must pay at least $9.19 per hour.

Advertisement