Gay Marriage

With Minnesota, a Dozen States Now Recognize Gay Marriages


Today Minnesota, where voters last fall rejected a constitutional amendment banning gay marriage, becomes the 12th state to give homosexual unions the same legal status as heterosexual unions. The state legislature approved the bill yesterday, and Gov. Mark Dayton plans to sign it this evening. Minnesota is the third state to legalize gay marriage in the last 10 days, following Rhode Island on May 2 and Delaware on May 7. The nine other states are Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York, where legal recognition of gay marriage was approved by the legislature or by voters, plus Connecticut, Iowa, and Massachusetts, where courts required the change.

California, where Proposition 8 amended the state constitution to overturn a state supreme court ruling requiring equal treatment of gay couples in 2008, could join the latter group, depending on how the U.S. Supreme Court rules on a challenge to that initiative. Of the remaining 37 states, 29 have constitutional amendments banning gay marriage. Eight states have neither legalized gay marriage nor banned it by constitutional amendment: Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wyoming. The District of Columbia legalized gay marriage in 2009.  

NEXT: Kermit Gosnell Could Face Death Penalty

Editor's Note: We invite comments and request that they be civil and on-topic. We do not moderate or assume any responsibility for comments, which are owned by the readers who post them. Comments do not represent the views of or Reason Foundation. We reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason at any time. Report abuses.

  1. COSMOTARRIIANZZZZ!!!!11111111

  2. Yes, “equal treatment” between heterosexual state-approved relationships and homosexual state-approved relationships. Everyone else, from the polyamorous to the forever alone, will enjoy no such equality.

    Slightly expanding the qualifications for a government benefit program (e.g., “marriage”) is not libertarian.

    1. The main problem with the equal treatment argument is that it changes the focus of the law from favoring certain actions to favoring certain people. That’s not a good precedent.

    2. to the forever alone

      Is there some state that refuses to recognize that single people are single?

      1. I think Utah imposes a marriage mandate.

    3. The problem is the government benefits not marriage itself. It’s like arguing we can’t legalize drugs because some welfare recipients will spend their money on drugs.

  3. What about Guam, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands?

    1. A quick Google search suggests all three of those locations do not recognize same sex marriage, but they also don’t appear to have constitutional prohibitions on it. There was apparently a proposal pending in the Puerto Rican legislature back in April to amend the commonwealth’s constitution to formally prohibit it, but I can’t find any updates on its status.

Please to post comments

Comments are closed.