Group of Eight Introduce Immigration Bill

844 pages


After lots of speculation and negotiations, the Group of Eight's 844-page immigration bill is here.

Sens. Marco Rubio (R-FLa.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Jeff Flake (R-Ariz.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.) and Michael Bennet (D-Colo.) today introduced S. 744, the Border Security, Economic Opportunity and Immigration Modernization Act of 2013.

The legislation can be read here. A shorter summary of the bill is available here. An FAQ is available here.

"While I believe this legislation is a strong conservative effort that will accomplish all these things and tries to make the best of the imperfect reality we face, it's not perfect. But I am also confident that an open and transparent process that welcomes public input is going to make it even better," Rubio said.