Public Health

Meningitis Death Toll Up to 33

Currently 480 non-fatal cases


Health officials announced on Friday that more people have died from the national meningitis outbreak, bringing the number of deaths to 33.

Currently, there are 480 non-fatal cases in the following states: Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia.

The following states with meningitis-related deaths include: Florida (3), Indiana (5), Maryland (1), Michigan (8), North Carolina (1), Tennessee (13), and Virginia (2)