24/7 Newsfeed

Put Reason 24/7 on Your Site


Follow Reason 24/7 on Twitter and via RSS

CA Regulations Prevent Sale of Kosher Coca Cola

Though not something typically envisioned as part of a Passover feast, West Coast dwellers who were hoping to enjoy a frosty Coca-Cola with their seder are out of luck. For the second year in a row, the soft-drink giant will not offer a kosher version of its soda in California.

Last year Coca-Cola modified its manufacturing process in California to comply with a state law that would require the soda to bear a cancer warning label, the Associated Press reports, and the company was unable to find a suitable replacement for a kosher version. In 2011, California listed 4-methylimidazole, or 4-MEI, as a carcinogen, and forced soda manufacturers like Coca-Cola to reduce levels of the chemical that is found in the caramel coloring used to give Coke its signature brown hue.

Source: Time. Read full article. (link)

Editor's Note: We invite comments and request that they be civil and on-topic. We do not moderate or assume any responsibility for comments, which are owned by the readers who post them. Comments do not represent the views of Reason.com or Reason Foundation. We reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason at any time. Report abuses.

  • RightNut||

    The State of California wants you to be aware that being alive can cause cancer.

  • Robert||

    Why does "caramel" coloring include a nitrogenous compound? I'd think it would contain only the products of burning sugar. And why is the coloring different for the kosher version?