The European Union and 11 Latin American countries have signed an agreement ending a two decades long trade dispute over banana tariffs.

The pact formally ends eight separate World Trade Organization (WTO) cases, was signed in Geneva by representatives of the EU, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Venezuela and Peru.