Ebola Travel Restrictions Imposed

Affecting travelers from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.


The Obama administration will require all travelers from countries affected by the Ebola epidemic to arrive at one of five major U.S. airports in order to undergo a health screening, officials announced Tuesday. 

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) measure responds to lawmakers' calls for the government to take additional steps to ensure no one carries Ebola into the United States. 

The administration previously instituted special Ebola screenings at five airports: Washington Dulles International Airport, O'Hare International Airport, John F. Kennedy International Airport, Newark Liberty International Airport and Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 

Now, people arriving from Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone will be required to travel through one of those ports of entry to ensure they undergo an interview and a temperature check. The policy will take effect on Wednesday.

NEXT: Don't Work, Get Money: Tens of Thousands of Federal Employees Paid to Sit at Home

Editor's Note: We invite comments and request that they be civil and on-topic. We do not moderate or assume any responsibility for comments, which are owned by the readers who post them. Comments do not represent the views of Reason.com or Reason Foundation. We reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason at any time. Report abuses.

  1. “94 percent of those travelers already arrive at one of the five designated airports.”

    Wow, what a bold move Mr. O!

    BTW, what if they travel to another country before getting on a flight heading here? Or, what if they figure out there’s these things called ships that enable travel over the ocean?

  2. I heard that someone, somewhere, in the Milky Way Galaxy, was heard to sneeze… It mightta been Ebola… It mightta been industrial disease. In any case… SOUND THE KLAXXONS!!! MAN THE BATTLE STATIONS!!!! BATTEN THE HATCHES, AND HATTEN THE BATCHES!!! This Galaxy is going into Uber-Quaranteen RIGHT NOW!!!

  3. Integrated Circuit (IC) is defined as a set of electronic circuits on one small flat piece of semiconductor material, normally silicon. A functional electronic circuit requires transistors, resistors, capacitors, inductors, etc., and the connections between them Integrated Circuit Devices testing.

Please to post comments

Comments are closed.