Coin Toss Determines Winner of Philippine Mayoral Race

Two candidates got exact same number of votes


A coin toss has decided the winner of the position of mayor in a central Philippines town after two candidates received the same number of votes.

Marvic Feraren triumphed over Boyet Py from San Teodoro town in Mindoro Oriental province after both had received 3,236 votes in Monday's poll.

Election officials had proposed they settle the deadlock by flipping a coin.

Under the election code, a tie can be settled by drawing of lots. Coin tosses are also acceptable.