Winners of Nobel Prize in Physics Announced

Serge Haroche and David Wineland have been recognized for their work on the relationship between light and matter on the subatomic level


Two physicists who developed techniques to study the interplay between light and matter on the smallest and most intimate imaginable scale won the Nobel Prize in Physics Tuesday. They are Serge Haroche, of the College de France in Paris Ecole Normale Sup√©rieure, and David Wineland, of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Colorado.