John K. Ross on How North Carolina's New Cyberbullying Law Criminalizes Student Speech


This summer, prompted by complaints from teachers, North Carolina legislators passed a law criminalizing student-on-teacher cyberbullying. The measure creates a Class 2 misdemeanor—on par with simple assault or resisting arrest and punishable by up to 60 days in jail or a $1,000 fine—for students who use computers with the "intent to intimidate or torment" school employees. 

John K. Ross writes that while most states have passed anti-bully provisions in recent years, North Carolina's is the first aimed at preventing students from bullying school employees.