Weather

Tropical Storm Leslie Makes Landfall in Newfoundland

Twelve hours of intense rain predicted

|

FORTUNE, Newfoundland (AP) — Tropical Storm Leslie's stiff winds and heavy rains lashed Newfoundland as the storm made landfall Tuesday, knocking out power in several communities, forcing the cancellation of some flights and the evacuation of some residents.

The potent storm touched down in Fortune, Newfoundland, at about 8:30 a.m. AST (7:30 a.m. EST, 1130 GMT) as it continued to barrel north-northeast at at about 40 mph (65 kph), the Canadian Hurricane Centre said.