Attn, Journalists, Bloggers: Enter to Win Reason's Bastiat Prize for Journalism!


Journalists, bloggers, and writers from around the world are invited to enter the 2012 Bastiat Prize for Journalism, which will honor commentary, analysis, and reporting that best demonstrates the importance of freedom and its underlying institutions.

The 2012 Bastiat Prize winner receives $10,000, second-place earns $5,000, and third-place takes home $1,000.

The prize is named for classical liberal essayist Frédéric Bastiat, whose writings on free markets, economics and individual rights remain a touchstone in libertarian thought.

"Frédéric Bastiat's work has stood the test of time," said Julian Morris, vice president of the Reason Foundation, who has developed and managed the Bastiat Prize over the past decade. "The Bastiat Prize recognizes and rewards those who, like Bastiat, eloquently deploy wit, eloquence and originality to make compelling arguments for freedom and challenge the encroachment of the state."

All work published in print or online between July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2012 is eligible for submission. Entries must be received by August 1, 2012. The winner of the Bastiat Prize will be announced at a gala dinner in New York City on November 8, 2012. 

The complete rules and entry forms are available online here.

Previous winners of the Bastiat Prize include Virginia Postrel (Bloomberg), Tom Easton (The Economist), Mary Anastasia O'Grady (The Wall Street Journal), Tim Harford (The Financial Times), and Amit Varma (Mint). The entries of previous winners are available on the Bastiat Prize website

Founded by International Policy Network in 2002, the Bastiat Prize is now awarded by Reason Foundation, the nonprofit that publishes this website, Reason magazine, and ReasonTV. Employees of Reason Foundation, regular columnists, and past winners of cash awards for the Bastiat Prize are not eligible. For more information and online entry forms, go here.

NEXT: John Stossel on the Education Blob

Editor's Note: We invite comments and request that they be civil and on-topic. We do not moderate or assume any responsibility for comments, which are owned by the readers who post them. Comments do not represent the views of or Reason Foundation. We reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason at any time. Report abuses.

  1. Is there a prize for un-researched snarky and sexist comments?

    Cause I’m a shoe in.

    1. I could use $10k myself. How about we get four guys to nominate one and just split $2500. I say we opt for Fluffy, as we can try to segue his literary writings into fitting the award’s premise. Must figure out how to make Roman era zombies into Randian metaphor… and thanks to the Obamabots, that shouldn’t be too difficult.

      1. Well everyone with the brain supply usually winds up sequestered on an island somewhere…

  2. Learn how to make money using Google. You can monetize your searching skills and earn up to $375 per hour working for this billion dollar company. You can choose your working hours. For more info visit

    1. You seem to have SF’ed the link, anon-bot.

Please to post comments

Comments are closed.