The costs of traffic violations are about to rise—dramatically—in Virginia. Starting July 1, the state will impose large fees, above those levied locally, on people caught speeding, driving under the influence or breaking other traffic laws. According to the Washington Post, for instance, someone caught driving without a license can expect a $75 fine from a judge, and a $900 fee from the state. Lawmakers expect the new fees will raise between $65 million and $120 million annually. Local judges say they expect their caseloads will increase, as people will be much more reluctant to plead guilty to traffic offenses, knowing they will also incur the big state fees.