24/7 Newsfeed

Put Reason 24/7 on Your Site


Follow Reason 24/7 on Twitter and via RSS

As Deadline Passes, Only 18 States Plus D.C. Will Operate Exchanges

With the passing of the Dec. 14 deadline for states to declare whether they intend to run state-based insurance exchanges, a total of 18 states and the District of Columbia appeared poised to run SBEs.

Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius said in a Dec. 17 blog entry that 10 states had filed blueprint applications with HHS to set up SBEs under the Affordable Care Act. Applications were filed by California, Hawaii, Idaho, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Utah. HHS is to act on the applications by Jan. 1, Sebelius said.

Source: Bloomberg. Read full article. (link)

Editor's Note: We invite comments and request that they be civil and on-topic. We do not moderate or assume any responsibility for comments, which are owned by the readers who post them. Comments do not represent the views of Reason.com or Reason Foundation. We reserve the right to delete any comment for any reason at any time. Report abuses.