Australia's Prime Minister Fires Three Cabinet Secretaries Hours After Being Sworn In

Heads of departments that shouldn't be around anyway


CANBERRA, Australia, Sept. 18 (UPI) -- Tony Abbot fired three Cabinet secretaries Wednesday and reorganized Australia's government just hours after he was sworn in as the country's prime minister.

The swearing-in ceremony had barely concluded before Abbott's office issued a news release announcing that three Cabinet secretaries -- Don Russell of Department of Innovation, Industry Science and Research, Blair Comley of the Resources, Energy and Tourism Department and Andrew Metcalfe of the Agriculture Department -- had been fired, the Australian Broadcasting Corp. reported.