Twitter Reverses Update on Blocking Policy
Had allowed blocked users to see tweets of block that blocked them
Twitter last night reversed course on a change to its blocking policy—less than 24 hours after that new policy was put in place.
Early on Thursday, Twitter updated its blocking policy so that members who had been blocked could see the tweets of the blocker, as well as favorite and re-tweet their messages. The blocker would not see any interactions (replies, re-tweets) from the person they blocked but the blocked member would have no idea they were blocked.
Twitter said this was done to prevent retaliation from those who were blocked, but the backlash was swift, with many members arguing that it would allow trolls and cyber stalkers to have easy access to their Twitter content. Members have the option of making their accounts private, of course, but many did not want to be forced underground by harassers.