Reason.com https://reason.com Free minds and free markets. Reason.com is the leading libertarian magazine and video website covering news, politics, culture, and more with reporting and analysis. Tue, 11 May 2021 04:00:23 +0000 http://backend.userland.com/rss092 en-US Brickbat: Grand Theft Auto https://reason.com/2021/05/11/brickbat-grand-theft-auto/ Computers will soon be hacking people. https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/computers-will-soon-be-hacking-people/ Bust a Deal, Face the Wheel, Here for Colleges and Settlements for Lawsuits Over Expulsions https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/bust-a-deal-face-the-wheel-here-for-colleges-and-settlements-for-lawsuits-over-expulsions/ Masking and Social Distancing During Voir Dire Doesn't Violate the Sixth Amendment https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/masking-and-social-distancing-during-voir-dire-doesnt-violate-the-sixth-amendment/ Can the State Influence Baby-Making With Policy? https://reason.com/podcast/2021/05/10/can-the-state-influence-baby-making-with-policy/ Hard to Deny the March of Time When … https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/hard-to-deny-the-march-of-time-when/ The Self-Fulfilling Prophecy of 'School Hesitancy' https://reason.com/2021/05/10/the-self-fulfilling-prophecy-of-school-hesitancy/ He Was Executed for Murder. New DNA Evidence Implicates Someone Else. https://reason.com/2021/05/10/ledell-lee-executed-dna-evidence-implicates-someone-else-murder-arkansas/ A Phase 3 Clinical Trial Confirms MDMA's Effectiveness As a Psychotherapeutic Catalyst https://reason.com/2021/05/10/a-phase-3-clinical-trial-confirms-mdmas-effectiveness-as-a-psychotherapeutic-catalyst/ Federalist Society Executive Branch Review Conference https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/federalist-society-executive-branch-review-conference/ North Carolina's Terrible Body Camera Law Blocks Important Information in a Controversial Police Shooting https://reason.com/2021/05/10/north-carolinas-terrible-body-camera-law-blocks-important-information-in-a-controversial-police-shooting/ New Lawsuit Argues That D.C.'s Ban on Dancing at Weddings Violates the First Amendment https://reason.com/2021/05/10/new-lawsuit-argues-that-d-c-s-ban-on-dancing-at-weddings-violates-the-first-amendment/ Institute for Humane Studies Posts my Series on Writing and Publishing an Academic Press Book https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/institute-for-humane-studies-posts-my-series-on-writing-and-publishing-an-academic-press-book/ Liz Cheney's Expected Ouster Shows the GOP Stands for Nothing but One Man's Whims https://reason.com/2021/05/10/liz-cheneys-expected-ouster-shows-the-gop-stands-for-nothing-but-one-mans-whims/ Upcoming Federalist Society Executive Branch Review Conference https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/upcoming-federalist-society-executive-branch-review-conference/ The Jobs Picture Is More Complex Than It Seems https://reason.com/2021/05/10/the-jobs-picture-is-more-complex-than-it-seems/ Cancelling Citations https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/cancelling-citations/ Pre-Writing Justice Breyer's Obituary https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/pre-writing-justice-breyers-obituary/ Biden Can't Explain Why He's Still Wearing a Mask https://reason.com/2021/05/10/biden-masks-jake-tapper-zients-cdc-guidance/ The FBI Seized Heirlooms, Coins, and Cash From Hundreds of Safe Deposit Boxes in Beverly Hills, Despite Knowing 'Some' Belonged to 'Honest Citizens' https://reason.com/2021/05/10/the-fbi-seized-heirlooms-coins-and-cash-from-hundreds-of-safe-deposit-boxes-in-beverly-hills-despite-knowing-some-belonged-to-honest-citizens/ Our Moral Judgments Affect Our Perception of COVID Risk Wired is wrong about Section 230, the Democratic disagreement over a SALT deduction cap, and more... ]]> https://reason.com/2021/05/10/our-moral-judgements-affect-our-perception-of-covid-risk/ Pressuring Justice Breyer to Retire https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/pressuring-justice-breyer-to-retire/ When Eminent Domain Is Used for Economic Assassination https://reason.com/2021/05/10/when-eminent-domain-is-used-for-economic-assassination/ Today in Supreme Court History: May 10, 1886 https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/10/today-in-supreme-court-history-may-10-1886-2/ It's Too Bad We Can't Fire More Governors https://reason.com/2021/05/10/its-too-bad-we-cant-fire-more-governors/ Brickbat: How Much Is That Doggie in the Window? https://reason.com/2021/05/10/brickbat-how-much-is-that-doggie-in-the-window/ Today in Supreme Court History: May 9, 1974 https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/09/today-in-supreme-court-history-may-9-1972-2/ 'The Intellectual Johnny Appleseed of the Counterculture' https://reason.com/2021/05/09/the-intellectual-johnny-appleseed-of-the-counterculture/ Recent Developments in Controversies About Quoting Slurs from Court Cases https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/08/recent-developments-in-controversies-about-quoting-slurs-from-court-cases/ Vegan Group Sues the U.S. Department of Agriculture for Promoting Dairy Products https://reason.com/2021/05/08/vegan-group-sues-the-u-s-department-of-agriculture-for-promoting-dairy-products/ Today in Supreme Court History: May 8, 1884 https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/08/today-in-supreme-court-history-may-8-1884-2/ The Era of Small Government Is Over https://reason.com/2021/05/08/the-era-of-small-government-is-over/ San Francisco Honors Early Lesbian Activists by Preventing Redevelopment of Their Home https://reason.com/2021/05/07/san-francisco-honors-early-lesbian-activists-by-preventing-redevelopment-of-their-home/ Free the Vaccinated From Covid Restrictions https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/07/free-the-vaccinated-from-covid-restrictions/ Louisiana Can't Prove This 74-Year-Old Inmate Took Drugs. They Revoked His Parole Anyway. https://reason.com/2021/05/07/bobby-sneed-louisiana-state-penitentiary-angola-drugs-parole-revoked/ Why Is the Justice Department Trying To Punish Derek Chauvin Twice? https://reason.com/2021/05/07/why-is-the-justice-department-trying-to-punish-derek-chauvin-twice/ Short Circuit: A Roundup of Recent Federal Court Decisions https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/07/short-circuit-a-roundup-of-recent-federal-court-decisions-105/ "When an Individual Brings a Claim with Respect to Which Her Disabilities Are Central," https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/07/when-an-individual-brings-a-claim-with-respect-to-which-her-disabilities-are-central/ New Jobs Report Shows the Government Gets the Unemployment It's Paying For https://reason.com/2021/05/07/disappointing-job-growth-worker-shortage-have-people-pointing-the-finger-at-generous-unemployment-benefits/ Will Biden's '30 by 30′ Conservation Plan Protect Both Property Rights and Wild Landscapes? https://reason.com/2021/05/07/will-bidens-30-by-30-conservation-plan-protect-both-property-rights-and-wild-landscapes/ Chinese Immigrants in the Deep South Struggle and Thrive in PBS Documentary https://reason.com/2021/05/07/chinese-immigrants-in-the-deep-south-struggle-and-thrive-in-pbs-documentary/ Great Moments in Unintended Consequences (Vol. 3) https://reason.com/video/2021/05/07/great-moments-in-unintended-consequences-vol-3/ Baltimore Prosecutor Asking FCC to Investigate TV Station for Criticizing Her https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/07/baltimore-prosecutor-asking-fcc-to-investigate-tv-station-for-criticizing-her/ We Reply to Anonymous Above The Law Columnist's Response to Our "The New Taboo: Quoting Epithets in the Classroom and Beyond" https://reason.com/volokh/2021/05/07/we-reply-to-anonymous-above-the-law-columnists-response-to-our-the-new-taboo-quoting-epithets-in-the-classroom-and-beyond/ More Than 300 Manufacturers Just Asked Biden To Repeal Trump's Steel Tariffs as Prices Skyrocket https://reason.com/2021/05/07/more-than-300-manufacturers-just-asked-biden-to-repeal-trumps-steel-tariffs-as-prices-skyrocket/ Gavin Newsom's Idiotic Case Against the Recall: It Costs Too Much! https://reason.com/2021/05/07/gavin-newsoms-idiotic-case-against-the-recall-it-costs-too-much/ FEC Drops Case Against Trump for Alleged Hush Money Payments https://reason.com/2021/05/07/fec-drops-case-against-trump-for-alleged-hush-money-payments/ Eldridge Cleaver: The Mormon Years https://reason.com/2021/05/07/eldridge-cleaver-the-mormon-years/