Reason Magazine

The Reason Video Prize Entry Form Past Winners

The Reason Video Prize honors short-form, online video, film, and moving pictures that explore, investigate, or enrich libertarian beliefs in individual rights, limited government, and human possibilities.

Entries may consist of one to five pieces by the same filmmaker(s) but cannot run longer than 15 minutes total (including all titles, credits, and other indicia). Submissions can be narrative, dramatic, fictional, documentary, etc. but cannot be excerpted from longer works. Entries will be judged as a complete unit, so care should be taken in making sure all parts are of equal quality and build to a coherent effect.

The Reason Video Award application and judging process will be overseen the staff of Entries must have been published online between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014.

First prize will be $10,000, second prize will be $5,000, and third prize will be $1,000.

Questions? Email


  • The Reason Video Award is open to filmmakers anywhere in the world but the work under consideration must have been published online for the first time between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014.
  • The total prize fund is $16,000, divided between first ($10,000), second ($5,000) and third ($1,000) prize winners.
  • Entrants must submit their video(s) through the online entry form on Reason’s website.
  • In the case of a question about the legitimacy of a video, the author will be consulted and a final decision will be made by Reason Foundation.
  • Entries can consist of one to five videos but cannot exceed a cumulative time of 15 minutes.
  • Entries must state clearly site and URL where each video appeared and the date each article was published.
  • Consideration will be given to the videos on the following criteria: intellectual coherence; persuasiveness; wit and creativity; relevance; clarity and simplicity; wider impact.
  • Creators must nominate themselves, although submissions may be made by an assistant on the creator’s behalf with his/her consent.
  • Entries will be accepted between June 15 and July 31, 2014; finalists will be announced no later than September 30.
  • The decision of the judges and Reason Foundation will be final.
  • Finalists will be invited to a prize dinner in New York City on November 10, 2014. (While attendance is encouraged, it is not obligatory to receive the prize.)
  • The following individuals and their immediate family (spouse, parents, siblings, and children), significant others, and household members are not eligible to enter the Reason Video Award: Directors, staff, and regular contractors of Reason Foundation; past winners of the Reason Video Prize.
  • Videos commissioned, edited and/or placed by Reason Foundation or any of its associated platforms are not eligible for consideration.
  • Reason Foundation reserves the right to clarify and/or modify these rules as needed. Entrants will be notified of any changes to the rules.
  • Questions? Email
Fill out my online form.

Reason Video Prize Past Winners

2013 Reason Video Prize

Last week, Reason TV announced the winners of its first-ever Reason Video Awards, giving out $10,000 in prize money to makers of "short-form video, film, and moving pictures that explore, investigate, and enrich our appreciation of libertarian beliefs in individual rights, limited government, and especially human possibilities."

Selected from about 100 entries, the winners included:

  • Drew Tidwell: "I, Pencil," produced for the Competitive Enterprise Institute
  • Justin Monticello: "Obama That I Used to Know" 
  • Isaac Reese: "Game of Food Trucks," produced for the Institute for Justice

Rounding out the finalists were Mike Mills ("Top DHS Checkpoint Refusals") and Owen Brennan, Justin Folk, and Robert Perkins ("The Crony Chronicles: I Want to Grow Up to be a Crony").

Congrats to all winners and many thanks to all who entered.

Also awarded that night: The Bastiat Prize in Journalism, which honors writing "that best demonstrates the importance of individual liberty and free markets with originality, wit, and eloquence." The top prize was shared by Lane Filler of Newsday and Ross Clark of the U.K. Times. The first-ever Lanny Friedlander Prize, named for the founder of Reason magazine and celebrating individuals and groups who create new platforms that explore and analyze the power of Free Minds and Free Markets, went to Wired's co-founders, Jane Metcalfe and Louis Rossetto.

Read more about the Reason Media Awards here.

Watch the presentation of the video awards by clicking above. Watch all of the finalists' videos by clicking below.

Approx. 3:30 minutes. Edited and animated by Meredith Bragg. Camera by Jim Epstein.


Editorial & Production Offices

5737 Mesmer Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90230
(310) 391-2245

Washington Office

1747 Connecticut Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 986-0916

©2012 Reason Foundation.||privacy policy